ACP in DC

Stephanie Hays

We just got to our rooms in Washington D.C. for the ACP National College Media Convention this weekend. I’m beyond excited. The sessions look amazing, the keynotes will be fantastic and honestly, I just really love being in D.C. The city is filled with so much history and sights to see, and I will be taking advantage of every second of free time that we get.

I had the incredible opportunity to go to the convention last year in Austin, Texas, and I loved being surrounded by other student journalists who were also passionate about journalism. I’m excited to experience that again this year. And I plan on taking advantage of the networking opportunities since some of the speakers are working for newspapers, magazines or companies that I definitely plan on applying to for summer internships.

While last year I focused on going to very intensive design sessions, this year I want to look at things from a new standpoint. I want to see how design can work with different sections of the newspaper, whether that be collaborating with reporters, photographers or the digital team, in order to create an experience and story for the audience. I’m all about visual journalism!

So here’s to an exciting few days in D.C. attending sessions and soaking in the city!

Leave a Reply

