Putting a price tag on my career

By Tommy Hamzik

It’s certainly discouraging every time I read a story about newspaper layoffs, especially when I also think about how much money is going into earning a journalism degree. That’s part of the reason why I dislike whenever asks me the question, “What’s your dream job?”

I can’t answer that, because I don’t know what jobs are going to be out there in 10, 15 or 20 years.

I was hoping to have a clearer sense of the future following Ken Herman’s keynote addressed titled “The Future of Newspapers: Is there one?” But I really didn’t.

Herman asked a lot of questions and brought up a lot of the biggest issues regarding newspaper stability: hubs producing multiple news organizations’ print products, the cost of a print product and the struggle of making a profit from the online product. But he really never posed direct answers or solutions to these issues.

In regard to the hubs, he said “Is this for better journalism? No. It’s for prolonged journalism.”

Yes. journalism will go on. The exact form myself and other journalists will be using is still yet to be determined.

Leave a Reply

