Newspapers and money don’t mix (nothing new here)

By Michael Bodley

Any keynote promising to take a stab at answering whether newspapers will exist in the future promises to be an interesting one.

The Pendulum's adviser, Colin Donohue (right) with me (left) at the keynote. Photo by Tommy Kopetskie.

The Pendulum’s adviser, Colin Donohue (right) with me (left) at the keynote. Photo by Tommy Kopetskie.

Ken Herman, a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist with the Austin American-Statesman, took a stab at answering that. In a winding keynote address that at times veered close to cliche death-of-print territory, Herman covered a lot of ground, touching on his past experience with newspapers decades ago to how Twitter and social media have changed things.

I never really got an answer to the questions posed in the keynote teaser (Do newspapers exist?), but I suppose, maybe, that was the point. After all, who really knows, anyway? Not me.

As journalists everywhere are more and more overworked and underpaid, it does call into question for me my future and why I’m entering the field. I certainly get tired of answering the skeptical questions from relatives and friends who mean well when they ask why on earth I want to become a journalist.

Some days, I’m more sure than others, but I’m never too discouraged. Despite the sky-falling rhetoric, it’s a career made of telling stories. Who wouldn’t want that?

Leave a Reply

