One more for the road

By Michael Bodley

So, I’m somehow a senior, and that’s somewhat scary. Barring a fifth year at Elon I can’t afford, this looks to be my last College Media conference.

From New Orleans in 2013 to Philadelphia last fall, I’ve had a good run — a really good run, actually. I’ve met some of the smartest, hardest-working college journalists out there, and I’ve had the pleasure of staying in touch with quite a few. I’ve been blown away by community college students starting a news organization for the first time. I’ve listened in awe to the path of a freelancing 20-something’s journey to The New York Times. I’ve had 2 a.m. debates over the ethics of traditional journalism in an increasingly ad-dependent business.

I’m not quite ready for it all to end. Luckily, I have another week of prolonging the inevitable. This Wednesday, we leave for the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention. For me, it’s a new state, a new city and a new opportunity.

See you soon, Austin.

Leave a Reply

