A Long-Awaited Visit to Austin

By Alex Simon

YANCEYVILLE — As The Pendulum departs for Austin, Texas in less than 40 hours, I cannot contain my excitement for this experience.

I’ve always wanted to go to Austin, and almost spent Fake Break there my freshman year when I intended to visit a friend. Circumstances made that trip fall apart, but being able to go now is perfect for me.

Also, as a Broadcast Journalism major, working for the print publication on campus has challenged me to learn a brand-new skill set. The variety of sessions available at the convention will further enhance my capabilities to produce quality content on a more consistent basis.

Finally, I’m fascinated by trends in the sports media world and hope to connect with professionals and other college students that want to discuss them in depth.

It should be a splendid affair, and I plan on embracing the opportunity to its fullest extent.

Plus, Austin has an In-N-Out. And you can bet I’ll eat at least one meal there.

Leave a Reply

