Good lessons, better people and too much food

By Tommy Hamzik

Reflecting back on this weekend’s trip to Philadelphia for the ACP/CMA Convention, I really couldn’t be happier I went. First and foremost, I learned a lot about journalism and running a newspaper. But I also met some great people and enjoyed my time with my fellow staff members, which made the trip really fun.

Most of the sessions I went to dealt with sports and coverage of sports. It was great to hear from professionals about how they go about writing columns and keeping stats and more. One of the more helpful parts too was chatting with other students there about their papers and their experiences with covering their schools’ sports. Just hearing the questions they asked provided lots of insight to me about what we at The Pendulum do well and what we could do better.

Over the weekend, I was happy to become closer with my fellow staff members and make some great memories along the way. We spent a lot of time with editors from The Daily Gamecock at the University of South Carolina and the Daily Beacon at the University of Tennessee, which was a lot of fun too.

I couldn’t forget to mention my frequent trips to the market and all the food I had while we were in Philly. I probably consumed one too many cheese steaks or cups of chicken gumbo, but that’s just OK with me.

I’m thankful for the experience and am excited to implement some of the lessons I learned.

Leave a Reply

