Stats, stats and more stats

By Tommy Hamzik

One constant fear I have in covering games is missing one detail that ends up being really important. And I’ll admit, I’ve been blind to some stuff in the past that have really come to hurt me in writing a gamer or even a feature piece from a game.

Joe Gisondi from Eastern Illinois University gave some great tips for keeping score and note taking while covering games, particularly high school games, during the session called “Keeping Score.”

I’ve had the same style of keeping stats at high school football games since I was a junior in high school, but he opened my eyes to some new ways. He also gave us a packet with some game stories he particularly liked, which I still need to go through.

Leave a Reply

