The reality of reality tv

By Kaitlin Dunn

My final session was my favorite one that I attended today, partially because I knew nothing about reality television and learned a lot, partially because it’s a fascinating topic, and partially because the presenter, Nicole Michalik was so engaging. Even though this session wasn’t about journalism or design, I still loved it.

Michalik was a contestant on NBC’s The Biggest Loser back in 2007. She now works as a radio host and social media manager, a job that suits her well. Michalik was funny and outgoing and an all-around wonderful, enthusiastic person.

The hour and a half flew by as Michalik kept us entertained with anecdotes from her time on the show and answered dozens of questions from the audience.

I always thought it would be fun to be on a reality show, The Amazing Race or Big Brother would be my top choices. This session taught me a lot about what it is really like being on a show, secluded from the rest of the world. If I ever do make it on a show, I hope that I can adopt Michalik’s fun loving attitude, instead of getting caught up in the competition the way many reality show contestants do.

Leave a Reply

