Some therapy, advice

By Jonathan Black

“We had a creepy photographer boy. We called him that because he was creepy.”

And just like that my first session at the conference began. It was “Editor Therapy” led by Kenna Griffin, adviser of Oklahoma City University’s student newspaper, The Campus.

As my tenure as editor is rapidly ending, I’ve been looking back at time considering what I could have done better. This session was great, to review what I’ve done poorly and what I’ve done well. Plus, it’s always refreshing to see how many of the same problems fellow editors face at different news organizations.

Some of Griffin’s points were:

1) Set policy
The Pendulum has a student handbook.

2) Communicate
Section editors have communicated pretty well in the past year, but it can always be better.

3) Document everything
This was something I needed to improve on.

4) Apologize
Almost everyone on staff, including myself, is quick to move past an argument and continue forward.

5) Practice
Griffin left some impactful words that if you aren’t making mistakes, you’re not challenging yourself.

One thought on “Some therapy, advice

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the session, Jonathan. I also enjoyed our short chat in the hall today. I’m glad you and your staff are getting a lot out of convention and meeting others who share your passions. I think this blog is a fabulous idea! Please give your adviser kudos from me for requiring it. We have to make sure we do a good job of sharing with the entire staff what we learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

