I do not want to start a literary magazine

Kaitlin Dunn

In my last session I learned something very important: I do not want to start a literary magazine.

I always thought it would be a fun project, something I could easily get started, at least online. I knew of course that it would be a lot of work, but I never realized how much time and money I’d have to put into it. Even an online lit mag, which I thought would be easier (and cheaper) is more than I could have imagined.

The monetary costs alone are astronomical, at least if you want a quality product. Domain name, legal fees, submissions manager, quality stock photos, promotional materials, the costs just keep coming and coming.

In order to keep up with the costs, you have to get some serious grant money to start it up.

And that’s just the monetary costs. There’s also the time and effort you spend on your magazine. You have to find good editors, and spend hours pouring over submissions. That is, after you put yourself out there enough so that people want to submit to your magazine. Just listening to all the work that goes into it made me exhausted.

I may not know exactly what I want to do in my future, but I think I can cross literary magazine editor off of my list.

Leave a Reply

