Life after college: it exists

Journalism after college is largely unknown for me. I don’t know where I’ll live, and I definitely don’t know where I’ll be working. Today’s session about what to expect after college appeased some of my anxiety.

One of my greatest apprehensions about entering the professional world is how to earn my place in the newsroom at my first job. The session leaders said that walking the line between being a “yes man” and being taken advantage of is tricky. The most important thing, they said, is to show initiative and enthusiasm. Asking more experienced staff members for advice is a way to demonstrate interest and get beyond the intimidation that newcomers often experience.

The rest of their information was self-explanatory and nothing I hadn’t heard before. It was still reassuring to hear it from people who have been successful right out of college.

Katy Canada

Leave a Reply

