Spoiled keynote

By Jonathan Black

It’s not every day I say something is a complete waste of my time. Today’s keynote speaker, Alex Rawl, tested the limits of that.

I’ll admit I joined the session about 10 minutes late as I was submitting editions of The Pendulum and The Edge for awards, but I must have missed something vital in those first ten minutes of Rawl’s presentation.

Rawl is the founder of Spilt Milk, a New Orleans based website that focuses on entertainment and music. I thought his speech would focus on how he covers and finds stories and how he started the website. Instead, he took us to BuzzFeed and showed us a post about Beyonce.

While I am critical of what is supposed to be one of the better presentations, I did take away one important lesson from Rawl.

With our writing, we are choosing the audience by selecting the voice to write in and we should always consider our relationship with the reader. The Web connects people so The Pendulum’s website should be as much like a person as possible.

Leave a Reply

