Britney, Avatar and Photoshop, oh my!

By Kristen DeMaria

When I imagined my first workshop at the ACP/CMA conference, I thought it would include lectures, tips and tricks. But what I did not expect was for my first session to be a Photoshop tutorial on how to turn a picture of Britney Spears into a character from “Avatar.”

Though I was surprised at this choice, I was eager to learn new tools that I can implement in my own designs. Though I don’t intend on making Avatar Britney, the new tools I learned will be useful to me in future endeavors. From new filters to cutout techniques and smoothing edges, this workshop had it all.

And hey, maybe someday I will have an occasion to create an Avatar. I can’t say I’m not prepared. 

Leave a Reply

