Bylines and beignets

By Jonathan Black

When I found out that the second conference I would attend with The Pendulum would be in New Orleans, I have to admit I was mightily surprised. As a Southerner and a journalism student, I’ve always, subconsciously, processed that in order to get the best reporting or editing job possible, I would need to head above the Mason Dixon Line.

It’s exciting for at least these next four days, the epicenter of collegiate journalism won’t be in New York, Chicago, Boston or Washington D.C., but New Orleans. And seeing how this is my second conference, I prepare to strike the ACP/CMA convention with a greater force than I did in March.

Sessions will be attended, connections will be made, business cards will be exchanged and yes, beignets will be consumed as I navigate the bayou.

New Orleans, I’m coming for you with an open mind and an empty stomach.

Leave a Reply

