Goodbye for now, New York

By Alison Ryncarz

Goodbyes are bittersweet, especially when you’re leaving a city you’ve completely fallen in love with. The rainy morning was appropriate for my sad goodbye to New York City as we took a cab at 6:45am to begin our trek home.

I am very pleased with my experience at the CMA Conference. I learned a great deal on topics ranging from successful blogging to how to be a great Editor-in-Chief. I was also happy with the networking opportunities that came about; having my business cards at the ready was probably one of the smartest ideas in being proactive about my future.

Though there were a few seminars that I felt didn’t leave an impression on me, I think I gained some important knowledge from each session. I had set my expectations pretty high coming to the conference, so a little letdown was inevitable, but for the most part I was very pleased with what I learned.

Being in the city and having time to explore was another highlight of this trip. Getting to walk around Times Square with my classmates and meeting up with an alumna in Greenwich allowed me to get a feel for the city I’ll be spending my summer in.

I’m so thankful to have had the opportunity to take part in this conference; I will apply what I learned this weekend to improving The Edge and myself as EIC.

Leave a Reply

