Leadership

By Alison Ryncarz

Jonathan and I chose to attend “How to Be a Good Leader” to learn some ways in which we could better improve ourselves as leaders within The Pendulum and The Edge.

I have to say, there was a lot left to be desired in this session.

The session was run by three students who had the right information, but the wrong way of presenting. I sympathized with them, because I could understand how presenting in front of some many peer could be intimidating, but I definitely did not get the idea that they felt incredibly comfortable talking in front of the room.

My other issue that I had with this session was that it turned into a venting session by the students in the room. For the majority of the time, we heard from about four to five key students who had so many problems with their staff and advisors.

I did not gain a huge amount of knowledge from this session on how to lead. I wish there was more of a focus on learning and applying the different styles of leading rather than gossiping about whose instructor was the worst.

 

 

Leave a Reply

