Gearing up for adventure in the Big Apple

NYC
Just got here this morning
Three bucks
Two bags
One me
Star to be, Annie

From the moment I first watched Annie as a little girl to the seventh grade production when I was unnamed orphan #3 to the present day, the one point that has stuck with me from my favorite musical (aside from the fact that I should avoid the likes of Alan Cumming and Kristin Chenoweth when they try to adopt me) is that I want to be in NYC, to be a part of the hustle and bustle of America’s largest city. I’ve been on plenty of visits with my grandparents who live right across the Hudson, but I’ve never had the chance to take on the city from a professional perspective.

This weekend is the College Media Association conference in NYC, and I could not be more excited. There seem to be a lot of interesting sessions going on. In fact, because there are so many, I’m having difficulty deciding between ones that would benefit The Pendulum and ones that are more my own interest. I have no doubt I’ll be able to find a balance, but it will be tough. This trip is an incredible opportunity for me as an individual to learn more about my own preferences in the world of journalism, but it is also a chance for our organization as a whole to learn and improve. I cannot wait to present all the information I learn this weekend to my peers on The Pendulum and in the School of Communications as a whole.

Some of the sessions I plan on attending for sure:

Want to Land a Cool Gig Overseas? (Because, yes, I very much do.)

Keynote speaker: Willie Geist

And the ones I haven’t decided on:

What’s It Like to Cover Jay-Z and Beyoncé? OR Tough Interview? You Can Do It!

Free Tools to Increase Your Following on Twitter and Facebook OR Time for the Enterprise (When You’re Busier than Captain Kirk)

Pendulum staff, if there’s something you’d like to see covered, let me know in the comments or tweet at me (@marykatebrogan). You can check out the schedule here: http://nyc13.org/. Can’t wait to see what this weekend has in store! Perhaps the sun’ll come out tomorrow.

– Mary Kate Brogan

Leave a Reply

