Not real life…

So maybe I’m a little bit late to the reflection party about The Pendulum’s trip to Chicago, but hey, it’s been a busy week. Catching up on all of the work I missed while I was in the Windy City has been tough, but I have to say, it’s well worth it.

I don’t consider myself a city person at all, so to my surprise, I loved Chicago. I really didn’t want to leave, and I still want to go back. I’m ready to go right now. (But actually, seeing as I haven’t unpacked yet.) The city was incredible. The food was incredible. I was absolutely impressed, and I didn’t even see Wrigley Field.

The convention was just as amazing. Multiple different sessions through the course of three days have helped me gather ideas for the future of The Pendulum and myself as a journalist. There are so many things I brought home and I have already shared a lot with the sports staff throughout the week. We as an organization have a lot of things that we could improve on and even implement. Hopefully, that will happen in the near future.

I knew The Pendulum and Elon as a school was gaining recognition throughout the nation, but I didn’t fully realize just how well we are known until arriving at the convention. Advisers knew who we were when we said we were from Elon. Even other students I met in sessions knew who Elon was because we had been used as an example for their newspaper. How cool is that?

Sunday, we came back to reality. Chicago really wasn’t real-life at all. The people that went on this trip are amazing. I couldn’t imagine having shared the experience with anyone else.

Well, it’s back to the homework. 1:07 a.m. and I’m just now starting an assignment. Sorry for taking so long to do this Colin, but honestly, if I did it on Sunday, I probably could have written a couple thousand words. You can thank me later.

Until next time, Chicago. It was truly an amazing experience! I’m good to fly back tomorrow morning. Anyone else?

– Andrew Wilson

Leave a Reply

