Session Seven: ‘Hell is Where the Police are German: Avoiding Stereotypes in News Stories’

Interesting. That’s all I can really say about this session. There wasn’t anything major like in other sessions that were “ah ha” moment for me.

The biggest thing I took from this session in general was that everything can become biased if you are not careful with what you include and what you don’t. Make sure you get both sides. I knew that part, but make sure you fairly voice both sides, or you could run into problems.

Like I said. It was a fun session. It was interesting. We started with a word game. When a word came up on the screen, you write another word that you associate with that word. That was really interesting to see the trends in the words when people think about something.

Other than that, it was just bland. Hopefully my last two sessions of Chicago 2012 will help me end with great memories of this trip.

– Andrew Wilson

Leave a Reply

