Gearing up for the long journey ahead

After stuffing my book bag full of clothing I hope will be considered “business casual,” I think it’s finally hit me that I’m going to Chicago tomorrow for the ACP/CMA Convention with four of my fellow Pendulum staff members and our adviser, Colin.

I’ve never been to Chicago, so I’m really excited about seeing what the Windy City has to offer. More importantly, I want to absorb as much information as possible during my time at the convention through attending workshop sessions, listening to professional critiques and talking with other student journalists. It’s always interesting to see how the works of other schools stacks up against your own, and I’m sure the six of us will get a boost of confidence on behalf of The Pendulum while still learning new tricks of the trade that we hadn’t thought of previously.

Overall, I want to achieve a more well-rounded knowledge of my field through attending this convention. I want to walk away with innovative, new ideas to bring back to The Pendulum and make the paper better than it’s ever been before. This convention is an incredible opportunity, and I’m ready to hit the ground running.

– Kyra Gemberling

One thought on “Gearing up for the long journey ahead

Leave a Reply

