Making the big switch from print to glossy

Thank goodness I went to this session.

This session was about Harford Community College that made the switch from a newspaper to a magazine as their news source on campus. This for me is not exactly what The Pendulum is doing, but did provide some great insight into the ins and outs of starting a magazine. Hey, that’s super relevant to my life (if you haven’t yet, go check out The Edge Magazine, the newest supplement to The Pendulum).

I have been going through a very similar process to this group which is why this was so great for me. Having just gone through the first edition of a new magazine, there were (and are) a lot of bumps to work out. One of the biggest things that I think is important, and that I really want to work on, is developing a readership survey now that the first edition has come out. This group of students emphasized how important reader feedback was and how criticism was really what made their publication better and better.

They also emphasized having consistent features each time the magazine is published, something that I have planned and am proud to say I have in the plans for the future. Although this is true, it is important to take this content and bring it to online, even potentially to expand the content online. I find this to be an excellent idea, and even creating pages that are designed specifically for the web. Because of money issues, it’s not possible to print as many pages as we want. So this is a great way to make sure a ton of content is published in some way!

I am definitely planning on taking what I learned in this session back to The Edge and implementing a lot of what I learned. I also picked up a lot of other student magazines to get ideas and to see what works v. what really doesn’t.

– Kate Riley

Leave a Reply

