NYC, here I come!

I’ve been to NYC three times, but have never gotten the chance to experience it like I’m going to this coming weekend, so I’m pretty excited, and there are a few things that I’m really looking forward to in particular.

In October of last year, I went to the SPJ National Conference in New Orleans, so I’ve had a taste of this type of conference before. It was new for me then and there were so many opportunities, so now I’m better prepared. The first session that I’m most looking forward to is about telling stories through data as told by Aron Pilhofer of the New York Times. This is something the executive staff of The Pendulum has talked about a lot this semester – incorporating more data into stories. Visual representations are vital to stories; but well done charts and information graphics are important as well. This is something that I want to work on in my stories, which is why I will definitely attend this session.

I am also really looking forward to a session about opinion writing. Writing an opinion column for The Pendulum at Elon is one of my favorite things to do, but I often struggle with the balance of fact and opinion in such stories. This session will touch on that subject and allow me to dive deeper into the work of opinion writing.

Obviously, being in the big city is going to be a big change from little Elon, N.C. But I need to go, especially since I am planning on being there all summer. I am looking for magazine internships right now (and getting closer, I hope) so this will be a nice practice round for me. I am hoping that this conference will not only allow me to network with professionals and learn more to further my journalistic skills, but will also help me get acquainted with the big city. I hope to learn my way around a little bit and know more about the city where I will reside for three months this summer.

– Kate Riley

Leave a Reply

