Reflections on a Great Trip

This time last week, I was somewhere in the air on my way back to Elon after a great trip to Orlando. It’s crazy to think that it has already been a week since we concluded our time at the ACP/CMA 2011 conference and returned to the busy schedule of being a college-student. Though this was my second trip to a conference with The Pendulum staff, this was by far my favorite, for multiple reasons.

After experiencing ACP/CMA in Louisville last year, I arrived in Orlando confident in what the schedule for the conference would look like – I had scoped out what sessions to attend, prepared my resume to hand out and had my notebook ready to be filled with pages of notes and insight from speakers at the conference. And the conference did not disappoint. While there were certainly dud sessions, the overall feeling I had when I left Orlando was inspiration. The Pendulum is an award-winning student newspaper, but that does not mean we don’t have areas in which we can improve. It was thrilling to learn advice in sessions, talk to other student journalists and even gain tips from looking at other publications. There are so many things we could be doing better or even just start doing that I am so excited to share with the rest of the staff and them implement  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again — journalism is not dying. If the energy and passion from the students and professionals at the conference is any evidence, the industry has a long and glorious life ahead of it.

-Caitlin O’Donnell

Leave a Reply

