In Reflection: ACP/CMA Convention 2011

So, it’s been a whole week since I got off the plane from Orlando from the ACP/CMA Convention. Crazy how time flies. Anyway, attending the convention was an amazing experience. Having never attended a conference before, I really wasn’t too sure what to expect, but I’m really glad I had this opportunity to attend the conference and expand my journalistic horizons, so to speak. The sessions I attended were all informative, interesting and useful in some way to my present and future as a journalist.

Attending ACP/CMA was a chance for me to not only learn as an individual journalist, but to learn on behalf of The Pendulum. Although my tenure as features editor is coming to a close soon, I learned many valuable lessons about feature writing and what it takes to be a good editor, lessons I will apply to the rest of the semester and that I will pass along to my successor. Attending this conference along with other members of The Pendulum was also a great experience, to simply be around them during the conference and casually after a day had concluded.

Although I was hoping for more networking opportunities at ACP/CMA, I had a great experience and I hope to attend future conferences, as a journalist student and as a professional.

-Ashley Fahey

Leave a Reply

