Hitting the road…or the tarmac…or something like that

We’re heading to Orlando for this year’s Associated Collegiate Press conference. This is my first conference with The Pendulum, but not my first of the year, so I’m really looking forward to practicing what I learned about networking and prioritizing my time in Orlando.

The problem with conventions is that EVERYTHING looks awesome and there’s only so many hours in the day. So, I’ve found the best strategy is to go to as many different types of sessions as possible to maximize what I can learn. Also, if something’s optional, like a resume or work sample critique, do it, no matter what, because these are a chance for some one-on-one time which can be very reassuring when surrounded by thousands of other attendees.

I’m hoping I’ll be able to apply what I learn to my future career, my classes, and of course my last few weeks as opinions editor at The Pendulum. Even more than that, I hope I can pass along any really important tips to my soon-to-be-appointed replacement.

For now, that is all as I have to finish packing all of the homework that unfortunately must accompany me to Orlando. But thanks for reading and I hope you can learn something this week, too!

-Rachel Southmayd (Follow me: @rachelsouthmayd)

Leave a Reply

