Shoot Yourself – Ralph Braseth : CMA 2010

I can hardly believe it’s been almost a year since I took Digital Media Convergence during Winter Term with J. McMerty. Those three weeks of limited showers, no sleep and constant video shooting were some of the most interesting times I’ve ever had.

Regretfully, I’ve found that I remember almost nothing about that class. So, I went to Shoot Yourself, a seminar about the very bare bones of making video.

Bare bones was correct. We learned a few things:

1)   Always shoot on a tripod

2)   There are four types of shots – wide, medium, close-up and extreme close-up. There are also proper times to use these shots.

3)   Never pan or zoom

4)   Interview at eye level

5)   Establish a repertoire before beginning to shoot

6)   Find interesting shots

7)   Tell good stories

Those were all good tips, and Braseth gave good hands-on examples. I was

more looking for refreshers on things like… how to turn the camera on and set up the shot (so embarrassing). But, advice on how to get the shots done was appreciated.

He also gave me an idea for my next Christmas present. The Kodak Zi8 is an iPhone sized, HD video- and photo- capable device with an external mic jack (and an internal one too). I love it. I mean, I don’t regularly shoot video, but something like that would at least make me more willing to go out and find my own stories.

-Lauren Ramsdell

One thought on “Shoot Yourself – Ralph Braseth : CMA 2010

Leave a Reply

