Mike Taylor and David Wendelken – Blogging With and For Class : CMA 2010

If there’s one thing that the Elon University School of Communications is good at, that is blogging. I blog all the time. I blog for myself, I blog my portfolio, I blog for class and I’m blogging here. I’m a blogging maniac, whether I like it or not.

This session, Blogging for Class with Mike Taylor and David Wendelken was sort of a mix of telling professors how to get students to blog, as well as telling students the benefits of blogging.

The only problem with this was that these two speakers were somewhat out of touch. Let me give you an example: when asked how long a blog post would be, Taylor said around 750 words. That, my readers, is a crazy length for a blog post. As someone who is constantly consuming this “new media,” I can tell you that something over 400 words is going to be a stretch on the Internet. Add pictures or videos, and then we’re talking even shorter word content. Also, both Taylor and Wendelken had no idea of what Tumblr is. I mean, granted, I don’t use Tumblr because I don’t have a need for it right now, but if you’re going to be a new media professor (which at least Wendelken is) and then on top of that give a lecture about blogging, one should know what kinds of blogging platforms are out there.

I seem to have bad luck with blogging seminars. The first speaker was too full of himself, the second one the speakers had bad (or mis-) information about what blogging is actually like.

Other than that, they gave good tips: keep adding new elements, sell yourself and pick a topic you’re interested in. More importantly, pick a topic that other people are interested in. Also, don’t be afraid to call up other bloggers and promote that way. Don’t be passive – find where you’re needed and fit that niche.

It gave me good ideas for the eventual Style blog Bonnie and I will have to start, as well as for my personal and portfolio blogs. Stay tuned to this blog (how many times can I use the word ‘blog’ in a sentence?) for more updates on the others.

-Lauren Ramsdell

Leave a Reply

