Ryan Newkirk – Write stories, not articles : CMA 2010

Rick Newkirk, copy editor, wants us to remember why we’re writing, and that is: who even cares? He gave us the 5 Ws – who, what, when, where and why… the sixth is that mentioned above. Why does it matter?

I expected the session to be more of a workshop on how to develop stories, and it kind of was. Newkirk broke us up into groups and had us work through stories in the news and figure out what possible angles we could have, who was interested and most importantly… why did it matter?

My group got Brett Favre’s sexting scandal and worked through that. I’ll spare you the gory details, but we essentially said that the story mattered because he’s a public figure and everyone likes a drama. Most everyone, at least.

Newkirk was pretty engaging, even if I didn’t get what I was looking for. Oh well. For tomorrow, I’ll make sure and read the session descriptions. I couldn’t do that when I was trying to read the booklet on my iPhone last night… silly hotel internet, always cutting out.

-Lauren Ramsdell

Leave a Reply

