This is a post of coercion

I had no intention of writing about this at all. In fact, just putting these words down on virtual paper makes me cringe a bit. But I’m doing it because of peer pressure, because of coercion, because, quite frankly, the Pendulum students on this trip frighten me. It’s not a physical kind of intimidation. It’s more of a sassy kind of intimidation. Meaning to make my life easier, here I sit, tapping away. All that said, I’m going to make this quick.

This afternoon before the keynote address (a fabulous speech delivered by Pulitzer Prize winner Tom French, by the way), I was given an Honor Roll Adviser Award from College Media Advisers. I won in the four-year college newspaper category. The honor is given to advisers with fewer than five years experience. It’s a truly great honor. I love what I do, and advising the Pendulum these last three years has been great fun. I know that I wouldn’t have won this award if I hadn’t been surrounded by fantastic students and mentors. So mnay thanks to all the students who’ve worked at the newspaper since my arrival and to the administration, faculty and staff in the School of Communications. Of course, I need to send a special shoutout to Dean Paul Parsons, Associate Provost Connie Book and former Pendulum staffers Olivia Hubert-Allen, Andie Diemer and Ashley Barnas, all of whom wrote me letters of support that made me sound better than I am. (And I’d also like to send my heartfelt thanks to my wife and mother-in-law who made trips from Whitsett, N.C., and Memphis, Tenn., respectively, to come see me receive my award. It meant a great deal.)

So there you go. That’s it. It’s humbling and exciting. But the real show is Saturday, when we find out if the Pendulum has won a Pacemaker for the second consecutive year. Keep your fingers crossed for us.

— Colin Donohue

Leave a Reply

