Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away…

You know that moment when the wheels just leave the ground as the airplane takes off? Yeah, I hate that feeling. But I’m absolutely positive the trip will be worth it.

We’re off to Kentucky tomorrow for the ACP/CMA Convention and I’m super-stoked! After serving as the Design Chief for The Pendulum for a semester-and-a-half, I’ve learned so much about the process of putting together a newspaper. And I know that I’ve only scratched the surface. There is still so much room for improvement and I know that the skills and knowledge I’ll gain from this convention will propel our paper forward.

We’re a young staff, and we’ve made our fair share of mistakes. But that’s how you learn. You spell someone’s name wrong, you print the same story twice, you somehow manage to give a football player three hands on the cut-out on the back page of the newspaper, you confuse health care with healthcare. You do all that, and you keep on going.

We’ve got a great representation of a strong, talented and passionate staff heading to the conference, and we’re all so excited to gain a ton of knowledge and bring it back to share with the rest of the organization.

-Gabriela Szewcow

 

Leave a Reply

