Mmmm . . . Korea

Disclaimer: For some reason there is no internet in New York, go figure, so enjoy getting all of these posts.

Saturday Night:

Exhausted does not even begin to describe how I feel right now. I never knew one could pack so much into one day and it is only 11 p.m. Anna, Colin and I left  from North Carolina this morning, we grabbed breakfast, hoped on the plane, I slept for the entire ride, battled a monsoon, lost my umbrella due to explosion, saw paintings and photographs from every major modern artist, broke out in intense hives and this was all before dinner. We landed in New York before noon, which made me feel extremely accomplished considering most days I try not to get out of bed before 1, let alone go to another state.

After Anna and I battled the monsoon and lost our umbrellas, we decided to go to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). The exhibits were phenomenal. My favorites were the paintings and photography exhibits; although also the Tim Burton one, but that’s for slightly different reasons. I couldn’t fathom why some of the art was considered “art,” especially some of  the photography. But I am no artist, so that opens a whole different can of worms entirely.

For dinner, we had the amazing opportunity to meet Travis Lusk, 2005, digital media manager for CBS radio. He gave us a private tour of the offices and even got to sit with a D.J. who was editing a phone call for air. While touring Travis talked with us about how stations determine listener-ship, which is rather creepy to say the least. Apparently cell phone providers have the ability to listen to you whenever you have your phone, not just when you are using it. To my surprise, I also learned that radio stations decide which songs to play based on statistics and only play about 34 songs.

Dinner was amazing. I had more Korean barbecue than anyone human should consume along with a scrumptious dessert. We talked a lot about Travis’ career and he provided us with a lot of insight and advice on how to break into the industry. Travis got his current job at only 22. He sent in his resume, and though CBS was hesitant, Travis was persistent and after meeting with nine employees, he finally got the job. Soon the topic switched to the amount of stress he is under, how he handles it and some of the stories he has covered. Travis covered the plane landing in the Hudson and the helicopter and plane crash. We talked about the business side of journalism and the ethical side, the business side being the need to get the story first to appease your boss and the ethical side of “could you wait ten extra minutes to turn in a better story, a better angle?”

Discussing my future, journalism in general and how he had gotten they job he wanted, was a great honor. When professors teach, sometimes it may be hard to really take everything they say as factual, but when someone can actually testify to the mantra of “not taking no for an answer,” it really helps to solidify things that I am learning in class and applying them to real world situations.

Alright, I can barely keep my eyes open, and like Colin mentioned, Anna and I have decided to be very ambitious and take on a 7 session day tomorrow. I am so excited to share what I learn, and I hope it helps us all.

-Sam

Leave a Reply

