The New York Adventure . . .

Ah New York . . . I first went to New York last Christmas with a true New Yorker. She taught me a lot of the ins and outs of the city from the insider’s perspective: Never go to touristy locations, like the statue of liberty or Empire State building, never look people in the eye or say hi because it could be construed as flirting and always haggle about prices, concepts I found extremely odd as a small town southern girl. But touring with her did have its perks, even if she never allowed me to go to Ellis Island, I learned about the city, its quirks, its strong points and really got to have a different experience than if I had just came as a tourist and saw the typical locations. And being the, as one of my non-journalism friends affectionately put it,”journalism nerd,” that I am, I really saw how this could apply to journalism. Journalists have to tell stories differently from the norm, they should always be looking for that different angle, really going outside the norm, even if it means forgoing the Statue of Liberty to find the small cupcake shop in the Village, whose cupcakes you swore were from heaven, then telling the story no one would ever know about. Different perspectives are key.

It’s almost 4 a.m. the night before we leave and I honestly am not sure where the time has gone. I remember it as though it were last week when Colin asked us if we were interested in going. Of course I immediately said yes then adopted the “It’s not for a few months, I really don’t have to worry about it now” mentality. Unfortunately the time flew by much faster than I could have ever dreamed, and now I am frantically packing, trying to make sure my resume is up to snuff, printing out business cards, deciding what to wear, worrying about whether I will be able to get up and get ready in three hours to catch the plane, and the list goes on.

While New York is thrilling in itself, I am more excited to go and to be able to represent The Pendulum and learn as much as I can about the business. Anna and I spent two hours, literally, Tuesday night looking at the schedule and deciding which workshops would be the best to attend, which ones we could share with others to have the most impact. I don’t have the list on me at the moment, but I will post it before everything really starts on Sunday.

Somethings I hope to learn:

  • Anna and I are bringing papers from this semester and last to get feedback. I’m very interested in what people will say about our paper and the suggestions on how we could improve.
  • Workshops – where to begin. Anna and I are each going to different workshops, multiple ones throughout the day, on topics ranging from how to cover breaking news online to “how to get a job” by someone from the Wall Street Journal.
  • Networking opportunities – Journalists love to talk, especially if they are talking about journalism. So during the conference I hope to do just that. Talk to people, share ideas and really come to better understand the business and how I can do my job better and more efficiently.

Most importantly though, I want to bring back new ideas from conglomerating with others about how to improve not only the News section, but the entire paper.

-Sam

One thought on “The New York Adventure . . .

  1. Looking forward to reading about your exciting times at the CMA conference. Soak it all up and bring the knowledge back to share!

Leave a Reply

