Start spreading the news, I am leaving today!

At 7:30 p.m. my dad called me and reminded me the weakest points on the body were the eyeballs, the throat and the pelvic bone.  He use to remind me of this every time I went into the next town, on a date, to the beach and during the entire drive to Elon as a freshman.

But I understand his fatherly concern.  I’ve never been to New York.  My dad hasn’t been.  My mom hasn’t either.  As far as I know, I am the first Johnson to make the trek from Marshville, N.C. up that far north. But I reminded him getting mugged in New York was a negative stereotype.  Besides that isn’t my view of New York.  My vision is one filled with metal towers, mustard-colored cabs, lights that never turn off and dazzling monuments that I’ve seen pictures of. (I am relatively sure these are all of the touristy things Sam was talking about.)

So what I am getting at is when Colin asked Sam King and me to attend the College Media Advisers conference it was a first of many things.

My first Pendulum trip.  My first media conference.  My first trip to New York.

I am nervous, scared, sleepy (it’s 5 a.m. and Colin is suppose to be picking me up in one hour.)  But most of all I am ecstatic.  I keep walking around with a goofy grin on my face.  I realize this kind of opportunity has never presented itself to me before and I plan to take advantage of it.

Sam mentioned in her blog post we spent two hours deciding on workshops to attend.  We printed out schedules, highlighted sessions and asked ourselves did we really need a break for lunch?  Sam and I are going on this conference to learn and bring back the knowledge of media professionals to share with the rest of the staff.

Some of the things I hope Sam and I learn and bring back are:

  • How to use language more creatively and effectively
  • How to cover campus crime more thoroughly
  • How to market the paper to reach a wider audience, for both print and online
  • Find ways of covering a wider range of stories
  • To better cover breaking news
  • Learn design fixes that can come in handy on a tight deadline (Gabby this is for you.)
  • How to better utilize new media, technology and the web
  • How to better organize the newsroom and staff to work more cohesively
  • And to gather feedback from judges, students, media professionals and other advisers

I know I am personally excited to be around other enthusiastic journalism students to hear their production night triumphs and tragedies and to find
out does every newspaper staff get free muffins from the local coffee shop.

I’ve got less than 45 minutes until we head out.  I don’t know what to expect and I don’t know what will happen.  But I do know this will be a journalism adventure and regardless of the outcome, right now, I am in a New York state of mind.

(And don’t worry dad, I’ll practice my left hook before I leave.)

–Anna

2 thoughts on “Start spreading the news, I am leaving today!

  1. Anna, that’s a great list. Wish I could tag along, because those subjects are a constantly refreshing pool. Have fun. Sleep when you can.

  2. You will get a TON of knowledge out of this trip – some of it on levels of which you will not even be aware. Enjoy and come back to share that wealth with others in the organization!

Leave a Reply

