Web Publishing with Free Content Management Systems

Ashley and I kicked off our first day at the ACP convention by attending the special paid session we signed up for, Web Publishing with Free Content Management Systems. The three-hour session dealt with building sites through  class=”hiddenSpellError” pre=”through “>Drupal, Joomla, Movable Type and WordPress. The speaker emphasized how beneficial these programs can be for college publications because they are free, easy to update, easy to build and are capable of publishing multimedia content.

Overall, I was a little disappointed with this session, not because the speaker didn’t do a good job but because the session didn’t cover what I thought it would based on the description. I thought it would be a challenge for me to learn more about web publishing since I’m not the most tech savvy person, but essentially all we did was walk through how to make a Web site on WordPress, which I already know how to do. It wasn’t a bad session, I just didn’t get as much out of it as I hoped I would. But I did learn that most people in the session do use WordPress as their publication’s Web site, so for those students the session was probably very helpful. It just showed me how lucky we are to have the great Web site we have.

-Alexa Milan

Leave a Reply

