Expectations for Austin

As we are gearing up to leave for Austin, Texas for the ACP/CMA conference there are few things that cross my mind. First and foremost, I am anticipating the awards ceremony on Saturday. The Pendulum is up for a Pacemaker award, a prestigious award for collegiate newspapers.  I only joined The Pendulum staff in January, but have been a reporter since I have stepped foot on campus in Sept. 2007.  I know the hard work and quality product everyone on the staff works to produce week in and week out and I’m excited to see everyone reward as a Pacemaker Finalist.

I’m also looking to advance my own skill set in Austin.  I’m attending many sessions, including Live Twittering and Blogging with breaking news.  In the world of social media, this is an important concept to know how to do and more importantly know how to do effectively.  I know the sessions I attend will help benefit me and I also will bring back many of the ideas I learned back to the newspaper to help continue to improve The Pendulum.

– Pam Richter

Leave a Reply

