Before leaving for Austin…

We leave today for Austin, Texas to go to the ACP/CMA conference, and excitement and expectation fill me as I wait until the time when we are set to leave.  Like everyone else who is going, along with everyone on staff, I am eagerly waiting for Saturday when we discover whether or not The Pendulum will win a Pacemaker award.  Although I’ve only really been involved and on staff since this January, I have seen how hard everyone works to make this paper the best it can be.  While I don’t have the knowledge of many other college newspapers around the country to compare, I certainly think that The Pendulum puts out a top-notch product each and every week.

I’m extremely excited to see what is said about The Pendulum and how it compares as a collegiate paper, but I’m also excited to be able to go to workshops to improve my own skill set.  One workshop that I’ve already signed up for is Breaking News with Twitter and Live Blogging.  Social media is becoming such a huge part of society now, and I think it is so important to know how to use these tools competently.  There are so many other interesting workshops available, and I am looking forward to taking advantage of the opportunity and taking as many different ones as possible.  This is an amazing opportunity to be able to improve the skills I already have as well as learn so many different things that I may not have the chance to learn otherwise.  This is a chance to not only learn things that I can bring back and introduce to The Pendulum, but it is also a chance for me to improve myself as a journalist.

– Sam Calvert

Leave a Reply

