Sliced and diced in 20 minutes

Going into my third session, Chicken Salad with Michael Koretsky Koretzky, I didn’t know what to expect. Everyone I had talked to had a different opinion, some people who had been to his sessions before told me that Koretzky was amazing, and this was something that I must go to. Others were of the opinion that his sessions were overrated. I decided to see for myself, and it didn’t take long for me to fall into the first category of people.

As a designer, I enjoyed this session immensely. Koretsky’s over the top energy was perfect for revving up the crowd. He even tossed out one-dollar coins for people who answered his questions, a happily welcomed bonus for speaking up.

I got a lot of great takeaways from this session. One thing that Koretsky said that stuck with me was something along the lines of “The minute you say ‘we don’t do things like that,’ we become everything we hated your parents.” There have been many times that I’ve wanted to try something, but the Pendulum has a certain ways of doing things, and even when we take risks, they are calculated risks. They are risks similar to ones we’ve taken in the past.

I want to go back to and do something wild this week. I want to do something we’ve never done before. I feel inspired.

4 thoughts on “Sliced and diced in 20 minutes

  1. I’ve been called much worse than “overrated.” Got no problem with that – after all, nothing’s more hypocritical than a thin-skinned journalist. I do, however, have a problem with my name being misspelled. Again.

    1. At this point, I have to figure we do it so that you’ll notice us. Our misspelling your name is like Lady Gaga dressing up in a meat suit. We’re starved for attention.

      In all seriousness, though, we apologize for misspelling your name. Again. That doesn’t reflect well on us. We’ll have another chat about why it’s important to edit carefully.

      Fingers crossed it doesn’t happen later today when a post appears on this blog about Chicken Salad II. Or, at least, if your name is going to be misspelled again, might as well call you Mick Kopetskie.

Leave a comment