How to Write the Fake News

I’m going to be completely honest, I don’t have a lot to say about this session. This was supposed to be the opening keynote, and I was under the impression that it was supposed to be more general and something that catered to a lot more people. Hallie Haglund and Zhubin Parang who are both writers for The Daily Show basically spent the whole hour and a half talking about Jon Stewart and what their day-to-day life is like. Which is great and everything if you’re interested in comedy or comedy writing, but I’m not in the least. I didn’t learn anything that might be useful for me, and was actually rather bored the whole time. I may have spent a good portion of the session – because that is what it turned in to – engaged with my phone. It was basically just a question-and-answer session, where Hallie and Zhubin couldn’t even get through much of an answer before there was someone else who had a question.

The one thing I did learn: you shouldn’t try to be clever and witty when asking questions of comedy writers. Dumb.

On the upside, Hearst tour tomorrow! Then lunch with Rebecca for our last hour or so in the city and it’s back to Maryland for me. Bittersweet, because I’m leaving New York City but I get to see my family and eat lots of delicious home-cooked food! (Which I have been craving for weeks, ask anyone in the office.)

-Kristen Case

Leave a Reply

